Candidate Sites


We are delighted to announce that already in 2020 there are several new sites beginning their journey to become Whale Heritage Sites. Each site is unique, providing and contributing in different ways to the criteria for becoming certified. During this process, the sites have been receiving a wealth of tailored support from the WCA to aid them in achieving their goal of certification as a world class whale or dolphin watching destination! 

Algoa Bay, South Africa

Golfo Dulce, Costa Rica

Cabo Polonia, Uruguay

Marlborough Sounds, New Zealand

Mosaic Jurubatiba, Brazil

Vancouver Island North, Canada

Franja Marina Teno Rasca, Tenerife, Spain

Dana Point, USA