Certified and Candidate Sites 


Whale Heritage 2022

This year has already seen new sites received their Certified status, and new locations beginning their journey as Candidate sites.  Each site is unique, providing and contributing in different ways to the criteria for becoming certified. During this process, the sites have been receiving a wealth of tailored support from the WCA to aid them in achieving their goal of certification as a world class whale or dolphin watching destination!



Certified Whale  Heritage Sites


  • The Azores, Portugal
  • Madeira, Portugal

North America

  • Vancouver Island, Canada
  • Santa Barbara Channel, USA


  • Marlborough Sounds, New Zealand

Latin America and The Caribbean 

  • Golfo Dulce, Costa Rica
  • Cabo Polonio, Uruguay
  • Cabo Pulmo, Mexico
  • Santa Catarina Nursery, Brazil


    • Plettenberg Bay, South Africa


    • Ombai-Wetar Strait, Timor-Leste